Skip to content

My Lunch: January 20, 2011

20 January 2011

Kraft Dinner! That’s right. It of the nuclear orange ‘cheese’ sauce and questionable ingredients. Screwing kids’ perceptions of macaroni and cheese for years. And I ate it for lunch.

What’s in it? I don’t know. Cheese? Maybe. I know that I put milk and butter in it. That’s all. But I don’t really care. It tastes just fine to me and it only takes 10 minutes. How convenient.

I know I’m supposed to be a sophisticated foodie and the first thing I write about is this crap. Many people despise it for its taste, colour and nutritional value (or lack thereof). But we all have these really ‘bad’ things that we enjoy. Instant noodles, pork rinds (hate those things), McDonald’s, any type of candy, etc. The list could go on and on. So Kraft Dinner is one of my guilty pleasures.

Anyone that can read should be able to make it, but I take some pride in my ability to cook KD. I’ve made it so many times that I don’t have to even think about it.

1. Boil the water.

2. Salt the water and add your noodles.

3. Cook until ‘al dente’ (unless you like mushy noodles). DRAIN.

4. Put the noodles back in the pot. Add butter (I never measure so I probably add too much). Add the cheese powder. Add milk. STIR.

5. Serve while it’s hot. I like to eat mine straight outta the pot. Saves dishes too. ENJOY. I find that one box fills me up, though apparently it serves four..I think I eat a lot.

Mmmmm Kraft Dinner…It’s one of those things that you wonder why you ate it afterwards. But then you forget about it because your stomach is satisfied. Good stuff.

Does this count as a recipe??

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

