Skip to content

Meat and Bread: PORCHETTA!

17 February 2011

Yesterday afternoon I went out for lunch with the girlfriend to a place I’ve been wanting to try for a while, Meat and Bread (370 Cambie). It’s located in Gastown right next to Victory Square. I wanted to go there to try their famous porchetta sandwich, which has become quite popular in Vancouver. Porchetta (pronounced PORKetta), is basically a fatty and moist boneless pork (obviously) roast, seasoned with salt and herbs. Meat and Bread is only open for lunch and, from what I’ve heard, can get quite busy (with lineups out the door). As implied by the name, VEGETARIANS BEWARE! (they do have soup, salad and a grilled cheese sandwich though)

A photo of half of their menu, showing all the sandwiches

We showed up around 12:30 and it was busy, but there wasn’t a long lineup. The place looks quite cool inside; it has an open area where the sandwiches are assembled and very hip decor. I lined up and ordered our sandwiches; I had the porchetta ($8), of course, and my girlfriend decided on the meatball sandwich ($7). They only have 4 sandwiches on the menu and there is always one special that changes daily (today was a beef brisket sandwich). All the sandwiches are served on ciabatta buns. I got the sandwiches and we sat ourselves down at a table at the front of the restaurant.

After snapping a few photos, I finally got to dig in. The meat was fairly moist and had that salty, almost cured, pork flavour. I liked the herb flavour too and the salsa verde (literally green sauce) that they put on it worked well. There was homemade mustard on the side as well, which tasted like kicked-up French’s mustard. The meat was nice and fatty and the crispy pork skin they put on it was yummy. I found, however, that it was kind of cold, probably due to the fact that the meat was from the end of the porchetta (it had been sitting out for a bit) and due to the waiting time and the time I took to take photos. All in all, it was a good sandwich but not super-awesome like I hoped for.

The meatball sandwich didn’t really have meatballs on it, more like ground meat. It was served with their “man-made” sambal sauce and shaved grana padano. It was a messy sandwich but my girlfriend said that she liked it. It was a little spicy because of the sambal sauce, which is made with chilies.

There wasn’t really any service, per se, since you order the food yourself and bring it back to a table, but the workers there are very friendly and helpful. I think the value is fair, but it may be a little more than some people are willing to pay for lunch. Although it didn’t exactly live up to the hype, I thought it was a good experience and I want to come back to give the porchetta another try and maybe try another sandwich. Also, they have a BACON and maple ice cream sandwich which I must try! Meat lovers rejoice!

Food: 3.5 out of 5
Service: 3 out of 5
Atmosphere: 3.5 out of 5
Value: 3.5 out of 5

My Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Meat & Bread on Urbanspoon

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeffrey Qua permalink
    27 March 2011 3:14 pm

    You should definitely try the porchetta sandwich again, it’s delicious! Though I guess it might be an acquired taste.
    I did not see the bacon and maple ice cream sandwich on the menu, but that sounds like genius!

    • 27 March 2011 5:07 pm

      Yeah I’m sure I’ll come back again for the porchetta. I liked the flavour, fattiness and crispy skin but it just didn’t meet the high expectations. I think everyone should have bacon and ice cream!

Leave a Reply

