Skip to content

The Ultimate Reuben

8 March 2011

If you look at my previous post, I made tom yum soup for lunch today. My brother, however, has absolutely no tolerance for spiciness, so I had to make him something else for lunch (yeah, I make my older brother lunch). He loves sandwiches so I decided to make him my take on the classic Reuben. A Reuben is a Jewish deli staple traditionally made with pastrami or corned beef, swiss cheese, thousand island dressing, sauerkraut and rye bread. I bought pastrami last week so this was a no-brainer. This is the ultimate MANWICH (yeah, I said it).

Here’s what you’re gonna need:

  • 2 slices of bread
  • pastrami, sliced thinly
  • 1 egg
  • 1 slice of cheese (I used provolone)
  • sauerkraut
  • horseradish mayo (combine 1 part horseradish with 2 parts mayo)
  • butter

We didn’t have rye bread so I just used white sesame bread (you can use whatever you want).

Now here’s how to make it:

1. Spread the horseradish mayo generously on both slices of bread. Heat some butter in a pan and grill the bread (non-mayo side down) over medium heat until golden brown.

2. You may want to warm your pastrami. I found it easiest just to stick it in the microwave for about 20 seconds. You can use as much pastrami as you want (I think I had about 6-8 slices).

3. Pile the pastrami on one of the slices of bread (on top of the mayo of course) and top it with the slice of cheese.

4. Fry an egg in a pan with butter sunny-side-up (medium-high heat for about 1.5 minutes). Place the egg on top of the cheese and top it with as much sauerkraut as you like.

5. Place the other slice of bread on top and serve! ENJOY.

I come from the school of thought that adding a runny egg makes everything better. This is no exception and the melty cheese, toasty bread, warm meat, cool, crisp sauerkraut, and zingy mayo combine into a heavenly creation. Now this is a sandwich.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 8 March 2011 3:12 pm

    The photo of that reuben is making me hungry :) and I so want one.

Leave a Reply

