Skip to content

I eat Dutch babies, no biggie.

20 March 2011

I’ve been busy studying but I needed to take a break from it and make myself something to eat. So I cooked myself up a Dutch baby. Yeah, they import those. Okay I’m just kidding. Well sort of. A Dutch baby is actually a special type of pancake, made from a batter similar to that of Yorkshire pudding, based off of German apple pancakes. Did I mention that they’re delicious? It’s a very simple recipe to make and you just have to wait for it to rise in the oven. And it sure does rise. I was actually first introduced to them while watching an episode of Good Eats. I was so intrigued by the sheer size of it that I knew I had to try it. So here it is…

Here’s what you’re gonna need (adapted from Alton Brown):

  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup milk (preferably whole milk), room temperature
  • 2 eggs, room temperature

Yields: 1 fully-grown Dutch baby

Alton Brown used a blender to mix the ingredients, but I prefer to do it by hand. Here’s how to make yourself a Dutch baby:

1. Preheat your oven to 375°F. Place a cast-iron skillet in the oven (you can use a cake pan if you don’t have a cast-iron skillet). Melt 2 tablespoons of the butter in the skillet.

2. Beat the eggs well. Add the milk, salt and sugar and beat well.

3. Melt the remaining tablespoon of butter and add to the batter. Add in the flour and whisk well. The batter shouldn’t be too thick or to runny, but a few lumps are okay (add more milk or flour if necessary).

4. Once the skillet is heated, pour all of the batter in and bake for 30-35 minutes, until it has puffed up and is browned on the top. Serve immediately and top with whatever you please.

Look at that monstrosity!

I made mine sweet, so I topped it with powdered sugar and strawberries. You could add any fruit you like, good old maple syrup, chocolate or whipped cream! You could even make it savoury. I think that fried eggs, cheese and bacon or sausage would be excellent.

It didn’t rise as much as I hoped it would, but it still turned awesome! It’s not too sweet and it’s crispy on the outside and soft and fluffy on the inside. So good!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Viv permalink
    21 March 2011 8:58 am

    RYAN, YOUR BLOG IS AWESOME! :D

    As a fan, I would love if you did more restaurant reviews. It’s because I’m quite lazy and don’t cook. Going out to eat is more of my thing.

    • 21 March 2011 9:49 am

      THANKS VIV

      Yeah I know you don’t cook. I haven’t been out to eat that often recently…I’ll try to do reviews more often and balance out the recipes. Happy?

Leave a Reply

