Skip to content

Oyako Don (おやこどん)

30 March 2011

This is another tribute to Japanese cuisine. Oyako Don is quite cleverly and oh so poetically named. In Japanese it means “mother and child rice”, referring to the chicken and the egg. Just like with the udon soup, this recipe also uses dashi (だし), mirin (みりん) and shoyu (しょゆ). I decided to include Japanese characters (hiragana) to see if they would show up (and they do). Oyako Don is by far my favourite Japanese rice bowl and I order it all the time in restaurants. Again I found a recipe in my Japanese cookbook, Japanese Food and Cooking. It’s quite a simple recipe and can be easily made in 15 minutes if you have rice ready. I’ll also make a post about how to make rice.

Here’s what you’re gonna need (adapted from Japanese Food and Cooking):

  • 1 lb. skinless, boneless chicken thighs, cut into bitesize chunks
  • 1 1/4 cup dashi stock (or same volume of water plus 1 tbsp dashi-no-moto)
  • 3 tbsp mirin
  • 3 tbsp Japanese soy sauce (shoyu)
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 medium onion, sliced thinly
  • 2 green onions, sliced thinly
  • 3 eggs, beaten well
  • 4 cups of steamed Japanese short-grain rice

Here’s how to do it:

1. Heat dashi, mirin, soy sauce and sugar in a shallow pan with a lid on high heat until it boils.

2. Arrange the chicken and the onion in the pan. Cook for about 5 minutes, until the chicken is done, stirring occasionally to ensure even cooking.

3. Sprinkle with the green onion. While still heating, pour the egg over the mixture. Do not stir. Place the lid on the pan and allow to cook for about a minute, or until the egg is just set (you want the egg to be soft).

4. Scoop some rice into a bowl and top with the chicken and egg mixture. Pour some of the sauce over top. Enjoy!

Yields: 3-4 servings

I was very happy with how this turned out. It tasted just like the real thing! I am definitely going to make this for lunch again sometime. おいしい ! That mean’s delicious (oishii). Mmmm I love rice! Background note: I’m Chinese but we don’t eat rice at home. It’s not ‘we don’t eat rice everyday’. We actually don’t eat rice at all; almost never. So take that stereotypes! As a result I have been deprived of rice my entire life. So I take every chance I can to eat rice. Anyways, try this dish out. I guarantee you won’t be disappointed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

