Skip to content

Brunch at the Twisted Fork

17 May 2011

The Twisted Fork Bistro (1147 Granville) is an interesting little place located deep in the Granville Entertainment District. It’s quite cozy and has a lot of quirky decorations; I especially like the ‘twisted forks’ on all of the menus. I have been there once before for dinner, but it was a long time ago and I have since forgotten my experience. My girlfriend and I ended up there on Saturday for brunch and it was BUSY. It was about noon and we were told it would be about a 30-45 minute wait, but we were willing to stick around. People were waiting outside and it was raining. Luckily, a space at the bar opened up and we were seated earlier than expected, within 20 minutes.

Our server, the bartender, was really friendly (realllly friendly; almost too much, but it was okay) and tended to us promptly. After a quick glance at the menu, we made our orders. Everything for brunch is $12 (except for sides, of course) and portions are fairly large. I’m not really much of a breakfast/brunch person, but every now and then it’s nice to have. The restaurant only has 2 chefs, so they give a warning that the food might take longer than usual, but it arrived reasonably quick. I ordered the bacon, caramelized onion and brie frittata, which was served with a corn salsa and mixed greens. A frittata is like a big omelette which is baked in the oven. It was good, but really filling and a bit on the greasy side. The corn salsa worked well to cut a bit of the richness, but in the end, I can’t really eat that much egg at once. I couldn’t even finish it! I was so surprised. The meal is a true BEAST.

My girlfriend ordered the Eggs Benny, which is one of her favorite dishes. You get a choice of ‘filler’ so she got it with prosciutto. It is served on brioche with rosti (like a hashbrown/potato pancake), spinach and homemade baked beans. The poached eggs were cooked a bit more than expected; they weren’t runny at all. The hollandaise was good and the rosti were very starch-satisfying. She doesn’t like beans, so I had to eat them for her and they were pretty tasty. The spinach wasn’t touched so I can’t comment on that…

It was a pleasant meal but I didn’t find the food that amazing. It is quite a popular place, so maybe I didn’t order the right thing. However, I don’t know if I would come back. Maybe for dinner, because that seems like the meal to go to a bistro for (and brunch food isn’t really my thing). The service is super friendly and it has a cool atmosphere. At $12, it is reasonable for brunch and given the portion size, but not too cheap at the same time. All in all, the Twisted Fork is a cozy little bistro on Granville with good food, a nice departure from the hopping nightclubs, shady establishments and sketchy individuals the area is better known for.

Food: 3 out of 5
Service: 4 out of 5
Atmosphere: 3 out of 5
Value: 3.5 out of 5

My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 (barely)

Twisted Fork Bistro on Urbanspoon

P.S. I haven’t done any recipes lately because my kitchen is undergoing massive renovations. I will try to squeeze something out soon, but no promises. Hold tight, they will come!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelsey permalink
    18 May 2011 12:19 am

    I like runny eggs with my bennys

  2. Viv permalink
    22 May 2011 12:29 am

    http://www.sporcle.com/games/triviahappy/C_Food_Diet

    thought you’d like that.

Leave a Reply

